top of page
  • Writer's pictureEbony Marie Gibbs

Observational Drawing 002-

Updated: Dec 28, 2021

This art piece is a still life of two oranges, two paint tubes and one spray mist (Ted Baker ✨) I have a LED light adjustable lamp which helped me control where I want the shadows and lighting to be.


This still life took roughly 6 hrs or more. The mediums I used was a HB mechanical pencil(0.5mm), 2B, 4B and 6B pencils, 2 erasers (One is a circular type, that can rub out small amounts) and a white pen (Sakura Gel).


I first started of by sketching out the shapes of the items in front of me, once I was happy with the look I started with the first paint tube. The hardest part of the paint tube was the cylindrical parts of the shape, I wanted to use perspective for this drawing but I still struggle with perspective, especially with ellipses and I am working on it now and as I said in the previous post I am behind work so I don't have the time to go over and over again. But in future I'll definitely use perspective to get more accurate and better quality work. Afterwards I went onto the two oranges and again I couldn't get the texture right which made them look like balls instead of oranges and unfortunately I couldn't make the highlight stood out even when I used my sakura gel pen, I also need to work on my shadows. But next time for sure I will get better. I am proud of this work though, as I achieved contrast between light and dark elements! :D



Another thing I found interesting when creating this still life was the difference between natural light and artificial light, artificial really made the items very bright!




12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page