top of page
  • Writer's pictureEbony Marie Gibbs

Reattempt of observational drawing 001 - But with blending!

I know the main task was to use cross hatching to create tone and shading but I struggled too much and I didn't have the time to go over again and again as I am quite far back with some work and lately I haven't been in it with school work. I'm getting back on track though! ^-^


This drawing took about 10 - 15 minutes, I really want to learn to draw fast so that I can fit most works within a day especially for my future career, a skill like that would be so useful! Mediums I used was mainly HB, 2B, 4B and a 6B pencil along with an eraser. I first started by sketching the shape of the orange, then coloured in the core shadow first (using a 6B pencil). afterwards I worked on the reflected light on the bottom of the orange (4B)... I shade differently. Afterwards I started to shade in the lightest area of the orange (2B) and blend it with the core shadow. Lastly I drew the shadow and used an eraser to create the reflected light in the shadow and highlights of the orange.


The only struggle I had with this was creating texture, I wasn't able to create those patterns of lines that the skin of an orange would usually have, so the piece still looked like a ball or sphere. But I am proud of the how I was able to create contrast between light and dark.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page