top of page
  • Writer's pictureEbony Marie Gibbs

Week 9 Digital Still Life

At first I struggled a lot with this as I've never digitally painted still life before. Wasn't sure what brushes to use at first or how to shade like how I would normally shade traditionally. So I tested it out by painting and shading a simple sphere.

As you can see, not so good. Especially with the lighting and choices of values. All I remembered about shading is that everything has a core shadow, shadow, cast shadow, reflective light, halftones, centre lighting and highlights. I didn't apply it well in this and therefore I went onto practicing tradtionally again To get a better understanding. But with this practice, I mainly used the airbrush tool and learned that its going to only create a soft effect. So now this time, I've created my final piece for this weeks task, using all the knowledge I have gained from the first piece.

Here I've looked closely at value and lighting. This picture has a lot of lighting especially to the right and the values of the playstation are very contrasted. The cast shadow and reflective light also helps to create depth and a realistic look. I used my own brush as well to create texture (at the top of the playstation and the stand). I have to admit, I was scared to do this as I believed it was going to turn out rubbish but I'm happy with how it came out even though I know I could do better (the shape of the playstation needs to be sharper). It was fun to paint as well and watching it progress.


Reference:


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page